Why Am I An Adult?

As we grow our responsibilities change to reflect our ability to take more on. A seven year old picks up the toys and a sixteen year old gets to babysit the siblings. We all eventually learn to wipe ourselves from the proof of last nights burrito. If you cannot perform this, there’s a YouTube video for that. If you are disabled or have a medical condition, it’s not a pleasant process. Where was I? Responsibility is a measurement of how far we come along as people.

Be an adult to be treated as an adult, but don’t confuse this as one of those old sayings or something your mom says. I just came up with that for this post. The other day I was talking to someone and a complain of another adult never taking them seriously came up in the conversation. It seemed to stem from a positive change this person was making. The issue takes root in that the other adult is taking more control over the change, even if the intent is to help, because this person doesn’t take full control over the process. A change comes from the realization that things can be better than what they currently are. You take your hands and make it happen. An adult takes charge, gets through the gritty parts, and doesn’t leave it to someone else. Be a brick and join the wall of other adults!

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a Reply

