I Pomodoro Myself

I have started this week on an upswing with the tempo of Pirlo as he pings passes and long balls to his fellow teammates making runs or opening themselves up with space. My targets are getting through my list of things to do for the week which include phone calls, doing research, and A LOT of reading. The occasional family situation will occur and I have to navigate through that as well like a human tiptoeing over dog turds on the sidewalk or questionable stains on a public bathroom floor. My list is getting smaller due to me actually sitting down and forcing myself to do the research and reading. That means whatever fixed time I have set for doing the task at hand without phone, people, or procrastinating habits. The only thing my eyes are focusing on is the screen in front of me. Some of us may multitask being on our phone reading the latest  memes while looking for information on something to write about. I am guilty of doing that, but how many of you can actually sit down for an hour and only focus on one thing?

I like to use the Pomodoro technique to get things done because it helps you train your brain to focus on things for a set period of time and then rewards you for doing that. You get instant gratification afterwards while being forced to wait for that instant gratification. It’s the best of both worlds and I get to counterbalance that accusatory garbage of the current generation always wanting things at hand without putting in the work. It’s not like our phones read our minds and then show results on the screen. We still have to press buttons while thinking about what is going to be entered into a search engine. Looking for information in a productive manner is a skill within itself. All you need is a timer, which can be found on most phones, or you can get one of the many apps that offers timers and other options to put into practice the Pomodoro technique.

It’s simply setting up time for x amount of time, doing task in that time, taking a short break afterwards and repeat until you get done with what you have to do. It’s great because we can tweak many variables to our liking. You can start using this on little tasks if you want to dip your toes in the water. You can go all out and use it for all the challenging tasks you have to do or for the tasks that challenge you. There’s a distinction here. I wouldn’t recommend this roadrunner method because honestly who wants to get stuck hearing beep beep all the time? Start small and work your way up just like exercise newbies do. Your brain is a muscle that must be eased into a working out routine like your calf muscles when you pick up running every morning. The calf muscles get bigger and your brain is able to concentrate for longer periods of time. A wall isn’t built by just putting a giant brick on the ground. Like many smaller bricks stacking up against each other to build a wall, our brain has to be put through repetitive tasks at a smaller level to build up bigger walls.

*beep beep*

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a Reply

