Jersey Tingles

When I put on the jersey of my favorite team it means the next 90 minutes will be the sole focus of my existence. It’s part entertainment and part loyalty. Why that specific team? For me, the policy of bringing up youth from the academy and the slick passing style of play were two things that really stood out to me. I, like any other follower of soccer, follow more than one league, which brings along a myriad of games I end up watching. The team that I followed kept making its presence known week after week as one of the games I would watch. It was gum on the bottom of my shoe that I couldn’t get out. It was my gum though. Rooted to one team because of personal interest and not jumping on a bandwagon is a rewarding experience to the psyche. From a cup final win to elimination in the Champions League, I have followed it all. My team can be at the bottom of the table, ready for relegation, playing second division soccer next season, yet you will still find me following. No other jersey gives me Speedy Gonzales type vibrations racing along my sides or the nipple hardening arousal of a weekend outing. Is it a mutual relationship? I’ll like to think so. I get to be part of a tribe and they get my eyeballs and money for ratings and merchandise. It’s another slice of fruit that makes up my mixed fruit platter.

Fan.

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a Reply

