Interview for Those Relegated Souls

Hello Readers,

It’s no secret that I play Football Manager. I find it to be a very rewarding game that will eat away countless hours of your life. With that in mind I can’t seem to pry myself away from progressing with the teams I play with. In this post I am assuming my current season with a second division team will end with us getting relegated to a lower division. That is the exact opposite of my goal for the season. Read along:

I: Tell me about yourself.

D: I’m a failed manager whose team got relegated to the 3rd division…

I: Last Place?

D: No. We were so close to staying where we were, but a bad run of form in the middle of the season and patchy form throughout the end condemned our relegation.

I:It’s all about form. Would you like to stay on as manager?

D: I would very much like to stay on as manager and bring the team back up to the second division. It feels like a take one step back and then take one step forward to end up where we started. It depends on the owner if I stay.

I: Seeing managers get more time to deliver results is something that should come back…

D: That’s the nature of the game today. It’s always been a results driven business, but that is inflated because of money. Money is plentiful to some in the game today.

I: You want to edit these results?

D: I can’t edit what has already happened. This isn’t a videogame where I can keep several saves and just go back to a previous one when results don’t go my way. The results of this season will stay in history, but I can achieve positive results that will push the current ones away.

I: Editing is part of my day. I will edit this interview and the show it’s on. It’s interesting how we have different ideas of editing. How will you spend your off-season?

D: I’ll take a short vacation before starting preparations for next season. I’m not saying a vacation is a reward. It’s a way to get rid of stress and come back with fresh eyes.

I: And the players?

D: I want them to enjoy the time they have to themselves. It helps to step away from a negative situation. There’s a lot of work to be done in both the physical and psychological sense.

I: You prepare the mind?

D: My staff, the medical department, and I put a lot of emphasis on mental management. I am not of the opinion that players shouldn’t expressed their emotions. Get angry! Celebrate in your style when scoring a goal! What we do is help players channel those emotions into the game. Emotions can become fuel if managed correctly.

I: I assume a lot of sad faces in the locker room after the last game.

D: Yes. I told my players it was okay to cry and make noise. I already had plans for preseason in that locker room. They need to know I’m looking ahead.

More of this fake interview will be available in the coming months. I hope you enjoyed reading the mindset of a defeated soccer manager. If you’ve read my blog from time to time you know that I view failures as opportunities to learn. I don’t think a person can have an 100% success rate all the time.

Fake.

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a Reply

