FIFA Confederation Cup: Why Am I Here?

Should the FIFA Confederation Cup be played the summer before the World Cup? We are currently getting through yet another tournament that takes away recovery time for players. This tournament bids the six different regional champs along with the current World Cup champ and hosts against each other. Got that champ? There’s gonna be a champ here. I admit I’ve seen a few matches. My favorite match so far has been today’s Germany versus Chile match. 

I don’t think the matches have necessarily been great, but we have gotten hilarious moments that will live on. Mada-fucker anyone? The last time I laughed that hard during a football match was when Louis Van Gaal fell to the floor to emphasize his point to the ref. And here I thought I was going to take a break from football… 

Who am I kidding? I look for Arsenal ttansfer news everyday… Back to my main point, it does seem like overkill that some of the players in this tournament came in with 40+ games under their belt last season. Alexis has played blank and players like Marquez and Mustafi suffered injuries throughout the season. Add three more guaranteed games to that count and all the time spent traveling. That’s time that could be used on a vacation or recovering from wear and tear. Footballers are people like the rest of us, rich, but still people. We all need a break from whatever the hell we do as well! 

I get champs must compete against champs to be the best. However, what’s in it for the winners of this tournament? A trophy and… 

See you folks Monday!

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a Reply

