Football in the Time of Coronavirus

Does football matter? Yes, the sport provides social and entertainment needs that have looked elsewhere to be fulfilled. Pick any streaming service of your choice and you’re entertained. I have re-watched more shows in the last month than I have in any other point of my life. Pick up your phone and call your mom, dad, siblings or friends. It feels weird now if my day has gone by without hearing from or communicating with my mom.

Does football matter now? I don’t think it does. I spent a long time today thinking about Arsenal and the football landscape in general, but nothing blog worthy jumped out. I realized that even though I want my weekends to be filled with games again I’m just as content without having football be a constant presence in my life.

Maybe when some normalcy returns we can put less importance on the transfer circus that is the summer window, stop trying to ask the hairdresser whose cousin is the neighbor of a ITK Twitter reporter who has a friend on the inside if Player McPlayer was coming for a medical and more importance on why we don’t have a legal way to watch older matches.

I’ll stop here to go strain my eyeballs.

Published by

ballofdaniel3

I blog about soccer, which is my passion and interest, because it has given me a lot of moments in which I have used the parts that make me human. History, life, and the other stuff I write about are the seasoning to all of this.

Leave a comment